Get the party started!

So I wanted to call this post very predictably if subtly – pink. But that made me think of the singer and surely this song is more mot juste.

It is true what they say – tough times do show you who your true friends are or at least all those people who genuinely like you. Like the IT guy who is sorry to see you go. Or the HR woman who says with a look of admiration on her face, ‘I’ve never met anyone like you before.’

This after I got the pink slip which is strangely enough not at all pink in colour, thank god. That would have depressed me.

So I took it calmly. My manager, a woman I intensely admire, had hinted about bad tidings in the future. A day before the axe fell, farewell mails from ex-colleagues across the globe, which ranged from the poignant to the prosaic, who shared the same profile as I did convinced me about what to expect.

But I still didn’t know how I’d react. Simply because such a thing had never happened before. I dressed up for the occassion (a thing I’ve rarely done at work) because I was damned if anyone pitied me. I wanted to face the guillotine with my queenly pride intact. I wanted to be gracious and easy and unconcerned. And look beautiful. Because that’s how I wanted to be remembered. But I still didn’t know if I would.

I was.

And while that is reason enough for me to fall in love with myself all over again, what I loved was the way an ex-cabmate and her husband became one of my closest friends in the span of an evening. And the way my concerned family kept calling me to reassure me that it would all be fine (even when I was/am surprisingly unstressed) and that they were there by my side. And the way my husband asked in shocked, confused tones, ‘You got laid?’ and made me laugh out loud. And the way friends at work hugged me with moist eyes. This when I’ve mostly been working from home. And the really sweet messages and mails I’ve been receiving from colleagues far-flung.

I shared stories of funny moments at Yahoo and Infy and people in general and laughed my head off with Gayathri and her husband L, who threw me an impromptu party replete with sweets, samosas, dhoklas, mutton stew, bread, tea, chocolates, flavoured yoghurt and inexhaustible liquor like Jägermeister. And without reservation gave me their i-pod charger. And even answered irate calls from my parents on my behalf. And at nearly 1 am, they followed me in their car as I rode home on my bike and they apologised to my mom for showing me a good time!

The kindness of strangers turned friends!

And since I was bitching to a new friend about how much I missed the internet and having a laptop, he decided that I ought not to suffer anymore without it and just brought home his Sony Vaio and a Tata Photon Plus data card and said, ‘Here.’

Just like that.

Who said life isn’t a party? 🙂

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Happy Days. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get the party started!

  1. Suresh says:

    Oh Dear, You got laid??
    been there done that…. I guess, company understood what a high maintenance this “Purple Queen” is.
    Accepting and letting go of this event is somewhat a huge task. Gradually, you will have the heartaches. Your friends will be with for a couple of days to console, but in the end, it would be upon as to how you take this situation and knowing you, I am pretty sure you are very good in handling this kind of situations.

    Like

    • Well, I’d love to get laid. But what I got instead was laid off. And nonsense, I wasn’t/am not high maintenance in the least any which way you look at it. That’s my story and I’m going to stick to it. A lot of people were laid off, and these things happen. But it’s work. And how we deal with work related stuff is always in our hands. Ergo no stress. God help my friends if this were some sort of emotional crisis though! And thank you so much for the vote of confidence, Suresh. 🙂 Yes, I will make you proud.

      Like

Leave a Reply

