Woman

So I do funk well. Very productive I am when I am funking blue.

My friend asked me to help him out with his International Women’s Day charity campaign and write about why International Women’s Day is important and needs to be commemorated in this day in an Indian context and why it’s a movement and all still. And I went into a tizzy. I had given him my word long ago that I would help him, so I had to. Only I couldn’t write anything – for a fairly long time. That’s not a normal state of affairs for me.

And then it came. Because my friend Monty was showing me pictures of her mom who was in hospital undergoing chemo when the pictures were taken. It was a terrible time. I knew her very little, but her loss is something I feel keenly because I know how much my friend aches for her.

Moms. You love them and you hate them but you can’t do without them. And I thought of what heroes our moms are because they do the things they do so effortlessly. Sappy, I know. But I’m in one of those funked out moods. And out of it, this came out:

It’s been a long journey for the Indian woman. From the four corners of a kitchen to the glass windows of a board-room, it’s been a journey of many celebratory highs. Even the lows have been crammed with learning.

Every day, a woman you know is constantly conquering her circumstances and emerging a winner – a queen of her own little world.

March 8th of every year is the day we celebrate these stories of women who lead normal lives with exemplary beauty, dignity, and grace.

On International Women’s Day, we commemorate women who dare to do something more than what they can. And go a step ahead.

Pretty neat I thought especially since I am so thoroughly mind-fucked. And yes, that’s a dedication to nearly all the women in my life. And I thought of this while writing because it’s so profound and lovely. Sorry, but this was the only place available. Do give it a listen.

Woman, where’s your dignity?
How can you lie there while the lover destroys you?
He doesn’t know your worth
But you bear his burden and make it yours
Why do you cry?
Woman, don’t be tortured by a madman
You’ve got to get out
The prison door is open
Woman, why do you rest here?
Is your love an ignorant sacrifice?
Roles you learned to play
Conspire against you and hold you down
Why don’t you fight
Um Krim Kali e Nama

Oh and ladies, let your light shine. 🙂

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Idle Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Woman

  1. Pingback: Celebration – SHE « Mbconsulting's Blog

  2. Marvin Grey says:

    Nice. A tribute to women’s day. No better start then our mothers 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

