Happy Together

So I was angry.
And then you called.
You knew just what I meant.
You saw right through me.
You made me laugh.
And there we were.
As if by magic.
Happy Together again.

You were confused and hurt.
While I ached for you, with you.
You lashed at me.
We wept in silence.
But then you wished me.
‘Have a fabulous day!’ you said.
The skies were really blue that day.
And there we were again.
Holding hands like always.
Happy Together.

We share with wine, tea, and coffee.
Stories. About sex and sadness.
We need things to gush over.
And people to laugh at.
The loudest laughter.
Is always at ourselves.
We often are.
Happy Together.

Two shy and weary acquaintances.
We met on a week-day.
Strangers.
But we had married already.
And then it happened.
With flowers and food.
Love, overflowing.
And here we are.
Happy Together.

On your birthday.
We first spoke.
Oh such a memory!
Great times!
You played the conscientious husband.
While I was the cheerful wife.
We both smiled.
Happy Together.

And there you are.
For all my life.
You and me.
We are always one.
Me and you.
It had to be.
You say ‘I love you’.
And ease my mind.
How do you know everything?
Especially about me?
I’ve stopped questioning.
I only love and lean.
Watch the sunshine.
Arrange flowers in the window.
How is the weather?
Happy Together.

Then there are those who speak
With charm, crassness, conceit
About comfort, commitment, companionship
About love, sex, even a wedding
Praising breasts, beauty, brains
Imagine me and you
And you and me
Happy Together?
No matter how I toss the dice
I cannot see
How will we ever be?
Happy Together?

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Happy Days. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Together

  1. Anu says:

    Happy reading this.

    Like

  2. Jayesh Sivan says:

    🙂 good one Bhumi.!! liked a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

