A woman in love

This is not what I wanted
This is not it at all.
There was to be a cool day
And a long drive to a waterfall
That fell gently against the cliffs
And laughter at the baby goats that came our way.
That was all I wanted.

Conversation and music would have helped us
Exchange a few stray kisses
Indulge our senses
Engage in some offhand but skillful loving.
Then we’d hit the city again
And all would be pleasantly forgotten
And nothing would be remembered
Except in a dinner conversation
With girlfriends
and to entertain
those lovers in distant countries.
And it would begin again.
Maybe with somebody else.
Or maybe on another highway.

But this, this is not what I wanted
O this is not it at all.
The fear of tomorrow
The longing for yesterdays
The impotence of today
The responsibility of being a lover, an almost wife.
The vulnerability of being
that awfulΒ cauchemar –
A woman in love.
O no, that was not to have happened.
That was not it at all.

Why talk of love when lust can be had?
So easily and so painlessly? Almost effortlessly?
And that’s why it happens.
Even when you only watch French movies
And know how love can be had
Without the loss of a life.

The universe with its wicked humour
Pushes you off the cliff
Makes you shatter against the waterfall
Takes away your innocence and gaiety
Till you have nothing in common with baby goats
Unless they died
stunned and helpless and bleeding
Under a speeding car
On a serpentine highway.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Blue Funk. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A woman in love

  1. Marvin Grey says:

    I will comment when I find my eyeballs that just popped out.

    This not right. Poetry is not supposed to be my thing. I am not supposed to understand poetry or like them. This is the last time I read poetry on Mondays. Two in a row. That’s two too many for a Monday.

    But still you got to love a person in love. It is infectious.

    Like

    • πŸ™‚ Thank you. Glad you liked it. Sorry you had to read two poems. There was supposed to be just one post but I was all angsty and the words just happened. A person in love is always a pain. I usually avoid them. They are either gushing or angsty. Yabba. Who needs that! But I am glad you love me. It’s returned. BFF. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Arun says:

    In the spirit of all things Bong, Bhalo Boshi! Love the finish, love the beginning, and that French movie stanza!

    Like

  3. Kanchana says:

    Absolutely stunning Bhumika – you are rhythm in motion. Just loved the poem, read and re-read it like a million times!

    Like

  4. avsharath says:

    What a lovely poem! Especially the last stanza, loved it πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. sumitha says:

    usually, i don’t understand poetry unless an english teacher with specs on the bridge of her nose, explains it to me πŸ˜€ but this was so lucid and so beautiful…heck, i could write an ode to this piece right away πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

