Bold, Brave Beauty

I so want to write about all the angst in my life. Like the fact that although I am a woman who drinks and smokes and appreciates cleavage on self and other women; it just makes me look like a fallen woman. I do not enjoy the perks of being a fallen woman like sex, drugs, or rock and roll; au contraire I am horribly chaste and puritanical because life is being very unkind and cruel.

Like the fact that while I am a single woman in possession of a fairly modest fortune it only means doing taxes with the help of the clever, finance oriented men in my life; vacillating between home loans and car loans or posh restaurants and spas; and being responsible for parents and other’s children and animals in life.

But we shall not go there.

Because after a post on teaching, there must be something happy to follow.

Turns out in eight weeks a perceptive person can see right through you – warts and all – and shower you with love.

I am so grateful really that I have the people I do have in my life. Though to be fair they verily are the reason I am back on anti-anxiety meds.

But no, we will be happy.

Jessu Goodfellow from the first batch of BWW, wrote me a poem. She also wrote I-saw-into-your-soul poems for everyone in the batch that made us laugh and cry and become closer than we already are. She saw into our souls in the eight weeks we had together. Which even a cynic ought to admit is a feat.

And my poem is damn flattering. And there is the fact that someone wrote me a poem. No one has ever done that before.

Not even the Consort who is a writer and a self-confessed award-winning poet.
But men will be men.

Ladies and gentlemen, read, understand, appreciate, comment, fall in love. With me or the poet or both. I am not particular that way.

I am just so humbled. And Jessu, thank you once again, my love. We were so meant to be. And every time I get mind-fucked, I will shamelessly visit this post and pat myself on the back. That is, if I haven’t scheduled a date with you already for just such a contingency.

Bold, Brave Beauty

She’ll hide pain and angst
With her unique sense
Of humour,
She’ll even hide her sweet
Self, her gorgeous heart,
With that brash exterior.
But know her well,
And you’ll know how
She’ll love like no other,
She’ll love you across
The oceans.
She’ll cross continents
To see you,
If you had a hold on her
Deep heart.

She’ll cut off your drivel,
She’ll punctuate
Your every careless sentence
With such dedication
You’ll stand in awe
Of this grammar goddess.
She’ll push you to your limits
Just to see you bloom,
Even if she spends all her time
Doing injustice to herself.
You see,
She’ll spend so much of her days
On the likes of you, or any
Of us writer types,
But she won’t stop long enough
To write her heart out,
Unleash all the beauty
Within her,
Or make solid through poetry
Or prose those fluid tears
She may cry
When you’re not looking.
Sometimes she’ll even save
Her tears
To face a difficult day
With the courage
Some of us may not
Be able to muster.
She’ll hurt in her body,
But she’ll keep walking.
She’ll break up inside
Herself,
But she’ll laugh with you
Or know what you’re really
Saying
Behind the curses you utter.
There’s so much beauty
In those big, glorious eyes,
So much splendour
In that smile,
But you must not think
There is no pain in them.
She’s a brave, bold
Kind of beauty,
A masterpiece really.
We need more like her
In our universe,
Or the rest of us would
Let ourselves flag
In no time under the strain
And pressure of life.

You’re that one of a kind
Woman,
You should know that.
Stay bold, brave
And stay this beautiful
Forever.
I just know I’ll be cheering
When you make all the world
Your captive audience.

(Cheering you on, Bhumika, to the ends of the earth…)

~ Jessu Goodfellow

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Paeans for the Pain. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bold, Brave Beauty

  1. Nanditha Guruswamy says:

    Awww thats such a sweet gesture 🙂 And I agree with Jessu one hundred percent, Bhumika – I too wonder how you just suck it in and make it look all so effortless. Hope this Summer brings you many more friends & happiness! 🙂

    Like

  2. Marvin Grey says:

    I like this poem. Yes, yes, it is not in the range of my much sought after Haikus but it is very good. She has a way of describing your smile and bright eyes like a cresendo towards the end. And she talks about an extraordinary heroine. So, yeah I like this poem.

    Like

  3. Garima says:

    Though its been just 3 months that i have known her, just seen her on facebook, not met even once in person, heard her on phone only…..I feel every word wriiten in this poem is absolutely TRUE. Lots of loveeee…. 🙂

    Like

    • O Garima, what beautiful things to say. Lots of love to you too. I cannot tell you what a difference working with you has made to my life. You are so wonderfully efficient. Much love and many hugs. ❤ 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

