A woman of habit

A woman of habit
That is what I am.

It’s not provincial
To want that plate of
Steaming hot rice
And pepper rasam
With garlic.

I might insist that
Only potatoes on the side
Will take the sting off pepper.
Just like I know red sauce 
Goes with white wine. 
But prefer not to have it everyday.

We live in a world
Where potato chips
Are branded with Spanish names.
Is it so bad to prefer
unpretentious potato flakes
from the hot chips 
down the road?  

I like my white wine
With sugar syrup.
An experiment first; it’s now a habit
That helps me forget faster.

I like my dinner served on time.
With the same sounds
from the TV I always hear.
I hate change, like everyone else,
Once I get used to something.

Bedtime must come with books
And endless night-time conversations.

But oh the world is full of women
And men are aplenty too.
Tire of one,
You may dial the next.

But I memorise only one number.
And that’s all I can remember.
So these days the phone is soundless. 

A creature of habit
I fall asleep in wait.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
Aside | This entry was posted in Blue Funk, Idle Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A woman of habit

  1. Marvin Grey says:

    Boiled Potatos, cut into chunks, dipped in a mix of red chilly powder and salt, and then deep fried. As for the chips from shop down the road, the 2-3 fresh ones just as they come out of the oil and before salt or any other masala, taste the best in the whole wide world. 🙂

    Like

  2. This post is quite similar to my latest post titled: There is comfort in routine. My prose pales in comparison to your verse. Enjoyed the familiar rasam, potatoes and wine!

    Joy always,
    Susan

    P. S:

    Like

Leave a Reply

