Shiver

They declared today to be the Bhumika Day. Which is to say that it’s my un-birthday celebration only. Not a surprise pre-happy birthday party. I have strictly forbidden them from doing any such thing because as everyone knows celebrating a birthday before the actual day brings tremendous bad luck especially in matters of the heart. Just like you don’t smoke when you are to go up on stage. It’s one of those things you remember and believe in.

Except they don’t.

‘They’ would be my business partner Rheea Mukherjee and the brats we have spawned together through the Bangalore Writers Workshop.

They did what they had to do and celebrated the un-birthday day. The BD which could be the Bhumika Day or the Birth Day. And then they gave me this video. And then they gave me an evening.

An evening where people came up to me and wished me, perfectly legitimately, “Happy Bhumika Day”.

What is the right response to that?

I said thank you or wish you the same or both. Rubbish. Utter nonsense. Insanely cute. Mortifying. Absolutely fun.

And it was an evening I don’t think I can forget. Our very first public reading.

Saying “Ladies and Gentlemen” to a room full of people again. Such tiny orgasms happen at that.

Hearing texts that they wrote, that we edited together, watching them read and claim their own voice. Seeing the effect they had on the audience and knowing. Knowing that, fuck, anything can get fucked, but we did good here. I did good here. Gave it all I got, sometimes even when I didn’t have it, but it all worked well.

So then they told me things cannot go bad. Because they are there. Always with me.

And strangely enough they are.

I give you: My birthday video.

Thank you.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Happy Days and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shiver

  1. Sanchita says:

    Bhumika Anand. You are one lucky lady. And things cannot go bad. No they can not. Because you are a wonderful person and you have wonderful people around you. Remember that. Always.

    Like

  2. R-A-J says:

    Hahaha!! That sure is one pretty awesome video.. I just keep watching it again and again 🙂

    Sad that I couldn’t make it for US – but wow! I heard it was stupendous.

    Happy Bhumika day again! 🙂

    fc*klove

    Like

    • I keep watching it again and again too. Thank you. 🙂 And we really missed you at US. Next one, of course you will be reading. So that will be fabulous. Thank you so much again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

