Commitment phobia

You were so bewildered, so wounded then, remember?
Full of stories of strangers and songs.
So boring, I thought, till you made me laugh.

You were so cheerful and brave then, remember?
You offered me the world; said there was nothing we couldn’t do.
You promised me something I could never have refused.

You were so committed and caring then, remember?
You offered me pleasure; said it was all about me.
You loved me like I had dreamed someone someday would.

You were so charming and skilled then, remember?
The more I panicked, the stronger you held me.
I resisted, you accepted. And how you gave and gave.

You were so romantic then, remember?
That was truly love and we kissed under mango trees
How effortlessly you flew me to the moon.

You were so adventurous then, remember?
Those midnight drives and that encounter with the cops
How sensuously that highway curved, just like my delight.

My eyes are stained now.
My lips quiver.
We barely speak.

We are so broken now, how can that be?
Two fearless souls like you and me
How can we shiver now?

It’s not perfect, you say, but when was it ever?
It needs work, you say, but when did it never?
The love that you hankered after, it’s finally here now.

What if it’s lost, you say.
Turn away.
Bury yourself in work and inaction.

You just want a status-quo now, you say.
Fluid lines and open futures and chastity.
A life devoid of good-byes and pain and meaning.

If we don’t hurt, how do we heal?
If we don’t move ahead, how do we meet?
If this is love, why must we wait?

There are places we need to go, dreams we need to live.
We have kisses to share still, and poetry to write.
You and me, really, how can it not be?

Author’s Note:
Found it buried on the computer as I am cleaning my drives and preparing to start a new life. It’s so sappy and disgusting, I had to post it. 🙂

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Blue Funk. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Commitment phobia

  1. Prashila Devi says:

    Haa haa haa. Thank you for making my miserable day a tad bright, B. Much love and yes, soar away to that new life. Here’s me giving you a push. Hugs and more hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

