Anticipation

I’d like to see you when you laugh
Amidst flickering candles and a cool breeze blowing
My hair won’t stay still and you will notice
As I move the strands away from my face
That my nails are long and painted red
And you will follow the way my hands return
To clasp the wine glass, drawing patterns as it sweats.
And you will drag your gaze to my lips,
The same red as the nails
To see them quirk in wry amusement.

For here we are, across a table
With chemistry brewing,
You and I, for the very first time
Conversation percolating,
In your head and mine
About all the clever things we want to say
Now that we have finally met.
And I will say something fun, and you will laugh.

I’d like to see you when you laugh.
Would you throw your head back mirthfully?
And your eyes when they meet mine,
Will they shine–reassured and confident?
You’d then begin a story
Something light and easy
And I will listen to you spellbound
Nodding and smiling at all the right places
As I imagine your lips on mine.

I’d like to see you when you laugh.
Would you just chuckle instead–smug, slightly superior?
So sitting across the table from you,
I would feel special that you chose me to share the wine with.
I’d sip slowly on the tart white, wishing there were bubbles,
Wishing I’d worn black. Wishing you were easier, and that I could relax.
I’d tell myself I must at least try, as I’d worry that your condescension
Would someday apply to me.
Or have you done it already, judged me and found me wanting,
And is that why you smirk?

I’d like to see you when you laugh.
Or would you merely smile?
A polite but confused contortion?
That would tell me how you didn’t see the humour
In two strangers meeting, trying to forge a relationship over wine.
That my wit went wasted, so you will never know why I love the books I do.
Even if gamely you are trying, to humour me still.
Though now, it’s clearly over. I’ll never sleep with you ever.

I’d like to see you when you laugh.
Would your laughter ring unabashed and free?
And your eyes when they meet mine,
Will they twinkle with appreciation
And a hint of something more?
O and what a lovely thing it would be
If you reached out and took my hand
As it fiddles with the wine glass, suddenly shy,
And brought my fingers deliciously to your lips
All the while still wearing a smile.

I’d like to see you when you laugh.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Happy Days, Intoxication Induced. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Anticipation

  1. Prashila says:

    Beautiful, as always

    Like

  2. Lovely! I see that you tried out the “indenting” thing! 🙂

    Like

  3. Aditi says:

    Whattaye start to my week. 🙂

    Like

  4. Jaanda says:

    Lovely.. 🙂

    Like

  5. anita ratnam says:

    Superb… i loved it….so very you

    Like

Leave a Reply

