Vain Wish

I wonder if Hemingway cares that About Books is wishing him a belated happy birthday.

He strikes me as the sort of man who would stare frostily, preoccupied, and say ‘Thanks.’ Yes, his love of word economy would consider a ‘thank you’ too superfluous.

As a ghost, I am afraid at how little he might speak.

Mark Twain on the other hand would have been disparaging and sharp. I’m sure he would have written a biting essay on how Satan makes us forget because it’s one more way to thwart God.

I tell myself that I would like to date a parsimonious talker.

It would make me feel special when he writes out a message that is long, respectful, replete with useful links to a few long reads sites that he believes I will appreciate.

He would wait for no response.

I wouldn’t have to plan on what to say to such a man.

We would have long months of companionable silences.

I would hug friends on the street, flirt with men I work with, and go on solo holidays where I will dream about having his presence in the hotel room.

An ipad charging on his side of the bed, the lingering spice from his aftershave in the bathroom.

I would spend my life unconcerned and wrinkle free at the lack of drama he brings me.

If I wished him a happy birthday on his birthday, he would merely nod.

There would be no hullabaloo over his favourite book – first edition, and leather bound – that I begged friends in the UK to source for me.

We might have a quiet dinner and maybe a glass of wine and that would be that.

He would even tersely grunt his pleasure after.

Or there would be no words.

Now that I am older, I wouldn’t ask for any either.

The trail of wetness speaks its own tale, what need are words to mature lovers like us?

I would kiss his penis and he would draw his mind back from the Israeli problem.

And that would be that.

Yes, I decide, the silent, brooding, preoccupied types is what I want to date.

Only I won’t have him if he loves Hemingway.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Intoxication Induced. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vain Wish

  1. Prash says:

    Oh-ho-ho. Crisp and clear. Loved this one.

    Like

  2. Marvin Grey says:

    “Only I won’t have him if he loves Hemingway.”

    Like

  3. allonothing says:

    Hahahaa.. I almost want him for you!😜
    Enticing..

    Like

Leave a Reply

