A place that exists only in moonlight

(For SPG)

The placement of the comma before my name tells me how you want to flirt. That you will tease, lead me on with your impeccable grammar, and you will pause when I smile. You will utter my name casually, carefully, hinting to me that we must stay within our punctuation, that we cannot love in exclamations.

Other lovers seek meanings in messages.
Some poets read between the lines.
But we sticklers of grammar, we kiss in the hyphens.

You tease me with your semicolon. Are we over; has it just begun? A mark is all I need to decipher your intent, to understand your hesitation. I don’t question in a tag. I punch in ellipses and it makes you smile. For a time, you are reassured.

Other lovers seek meanings in messages.
Some poets read between the lines.
But we sticklers of grammar, we kiss in the hyphens.

I woo you through my parentheses. Let us drink wine tonight (or beer, if you wish). I construct open-ended questions. I open our world to the skies. What would you do with all this space then? You notice details, but here there’s an entire universe between every sentence of mine. You live in your space, I lull you into love, and it is one that we now inhabit – our place that exists only in the moonlight.

Other lovers seek meanings in messages.
Some poets read between the lines.
But we sticklers of grammar, we kiss in the hyphens.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Intoxication Induced. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A place that exists only in moonlight

  1. stalkerwoman says:

    Nice. I am surprised how you did not write this before. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Marvin Grey says:

    Aha! Now I know how to use them; where to use semi-colons.

    I do it right? Did I?

    Like

  3. Ch4 says:

    This is beautiful Bhumika.

    Like

Leave a Reply

