Tonight, when you call

Tonight, when you call, we shall speak about words
Your voice soothing apologies; mine lilting like the songs of birds.

Tonight, when you call, we shall share memories
You will remember how children are born; I will shudder recalling how a tree dies.

Tonight, when you call, we shall laugh
Your teeth shining in my smiling eyes; my giggle caught in your teasing mouth.

Tonight, when you call, we shall find each other
You will rest your tired thoughts in my soul; I will shape my splintered self in your eyes.

Tonight, when you call, we shall become a ghazal
You will be all the metaphors of love; I will be all the tunes of desire.

Tonight, when you call, we shall only love
You will not court me with your work;  I will not woo you with my grammar.

Tonight, when you call, we shall plan a two-day holiday
You will decide we can’t leave on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday; I will decline for Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday.

Tonight, when you call, we shall learn to give
You will not hold yourself back, ever again; I will not force myself to take, ever more.

Tonight, when you call, we shall speak as friends
You will insist on buying me a drink; I will persist, and pick up the tab.

Tonight, when you call, we shall finally believe
You will mean it when you say ‘Speak soon’; I will understand enough to just be.

Written for the ghazal writing assignment in the BWW: Poetry Classic, where I am a Sunflower. I do think this is a big fat fail in terms of adhering to the form, but posting anyway because I am silly and vain. Like that.

Bonus points if you got the ‘be’= B = me = the takhallus in the maqta.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Intoxication Induced. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tonight, when you call

  1. Ch4 says:

    Absolutely beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

