Nobody likes fat ladies

Why I am telling means, it is for your own good.
Nobody likes fat ladies, ma.
Whatever it might be.
Tomorrow marriage also problem.
If at all, by chance, God’s grace, you get married also, then,
Children bearing problems are beginning.
Why you want all that?
Nobody likes fat ladies, ma.
Whatever it might be.
Now, see, our Raji here, that day she got locked. Outside, ma. Forgot to take key.
From the window she entered shop.
Such a life save.
I am not telling to you to look like Raji.
I am simply giving friendly advice.
Nobody likes fat ladies, ma.
Whatever it might be.
In photo also, fat ladies tilt the frame, ma
What will happen in bus or auto, you tell to me.
This pattern, that pattern you will get off from foreign books
Not a problem. We are P V Rao and Sons.
But how you will wear such patterns on fat body?
Not nice, what this stitching, you will bring complaints
after stiching, even over-locking, is finished
What I will do if you cannot even able to show thigh gap?
You tell. No, you tell to me.
That is why, I am telling.
Simp-simply for timepass, I am not saying you.
Nobody likes fat ladies, ma.
Whatever it might be.
You are like my sister, no?
That’s why I will say of one bad thing.
Men are looking like anything at fat ladies.
But for marriage purposes, they want slim, trim girls only.
Never ever have I stitched fat ladies bridal, you know.
Nobody likes fat ladies, ma
Whatever it might be.
Next time you come back here
Become thin and come.
Rice and all you don’t eat.
Sugar also.
Don’t eat only.
See then, how this dress only become fitting for you. No repairing only.
Just like a brother I am telling you, ma.
You are young, no, that’s why.
I will repair dress, no problem,
But why all that?
Just you become thin lady.
Nobody likes fat ladies, ma.
Whatever it might be.

Written for the Indian English prompt in the BWW: Poetry (Classic) as a Sunflower.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Intoxication Induced. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Nobody likes fat ladies

  1. poornimavm says:

    It is a satire of modern trends. Very apt examples Bhumika. I loved the Indian English…rather Tambi-English!

    Like

  2. HRK says:

    Lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed reading it! 🙂
    Cheers,
    HRK

    Like

  3. Sigh! Brought back memories! 😀

    But so beautifully written.

    Like

  4. Sayali Gaunkar says:

    the best!

    Like

  5. Marvin Grey says:

    🙂 and so poetic… I need to get new shirts stitched to replace the ones which have become tight. I will tell him… “Form fit but leave more space in the middle”

    Like

Leave a Reply

