A lover goes shopping

I choose a blue fabric
that’s smattered with golden stars
It’s the blue of the sea
if it were washed twice.

I remember you on the phone
murmuring in Malyalam
You approve something, I can tell,
And it is done.

The blue will never work.
To brighten up our lives.

Red always works, says Cosmopolitan
I find a red that’s the shade of wine
Part violet, part red, the colour of grand histories
Cloaked in intrigue, romance, and blood.

With you I had resisted the pull
of my phone ringing incessantly.
Kissing urgently, I still wondered
When I would be able to return that call.

Red the shade of wine
Would not stain us in constancy.

I notice the subtle pink then
with lace work so symmetrical
It reminds me of the gardens in France
I am yet to see.

I remember when you moved away from me
To attend another call
A longer discussion this time.
How I had almost lost you.

Pink will arrest your attention.
Perhaps it’s even your favourite colour.

I colour at the memories of your smile, after,
When you lay spent beside me; I was your favourite person, then,
For one second there, you thought of nothing but me.
For just that second, I was all you had on your mind.

We ignored phone calls, even the world, then,
As somewhere, someone, would have lit a cigarette,
Celebrating our moment of turning a blind eye to the universe
As we painted our own destiny.

That’s the colour I want to buy
In a fabric that will shape memories and stretch a moment.

Shopping for a colour to seduce you with
I will your awareness of me again
Single-minded and focussed only on our mutual pleasure
I have to find a hue that will define our togetherness.

What colour would encircle our desire
Warm and wet as a wave from a sun-kissed sea?
A shade that will brand us
As the generous and greedy lovers we had been with each other.

I linger over colours, fabrics, prints, and patterns
But no material in the world will suit what I have in mind.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Intoxication Induced. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A lover goes shopping

  1. Pankaj Saini says:

    Women and colours 😀 I feel like I’m almost color blind 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. poornimavm says:

    I just loved it Bhumika. Send me the link for on-line shopping when you find that ‘one colour of love, that never fades with time’ and the fabric that will shape memories and stretch a moment. 🙂

    Like

  3. lalit tandon says:

    Loved reading it Bhumika… ‘the fabric that shapes memories and stretch a moment….’

    Like

Leave a Reply

