Brother

He leans out front on the car seat 
To take more of the sights in.
It's been years since he's travelled these roads.
His neck craning out
Looks tender, vulnerable.
His swallow moves
his Adam's Apple
Down then up.
Or is it the other way?

In that moment
He reminds me most of Papa
The father we both shared
and did not share.
But whose troubles and cares
We both took on.
We nursed Papa
We both called him 'Papa.'
And Papa loved it.

My stomach drops as
I see other traits of Papa.
His domesticity
The way he hates troubling anyone
The way he was ready to drop my girl to the railway station
The way he calls me, the only one who does now, after Papa, 'Bommy'.
Papa told me it was doll in Tulu.
The silence.
This man has lived years in the depths of his being.
Everything now, then, is a secret.
It all reads like sorrow.
Just as it was with Papa.

But when he smiles or tells a story
It's fascinating always.
The delight fades the years,
Drops the drudgery of a US life
And it's like we are children again
Giggling, laughing
Our cheeks turning pink
Eyes alight with easy mischief.
The story gets told slowly
I nod impatient
But it's a good story.
Always a fun story.

And then he turns away
Watches the road again
Becomes my Papa again
Who in the end started taking
no space
Who shrank and withdrew.
Like he seems to be doing now.

Good men both.
Kind men both.
The kindest I have known.
They never speak of their battles.
The silence stretches ahead like the roads.
The throat clogs.
Why do good, kind men
Make your heart ache with worry
And swell you up with love
So that the tears escape
Unbidden
Listening to a song by BTS
About life going on.

About Bhumika's Boudoir

I love to laugh, and end up being a part of high drama and stormy emotion even when I don't pursue it. Being creative, and communicating with people get me going. I enjoy all the good things in life especially those that are slightly risque, and apologise little, if ever, for all that I do. Literature is a passion and so is music.
This entry was posted in Idle Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment